top of page

Jacob & Laurie's Butternut Squash Soup Recipe

Updated: Oct 8, 2018



Ingredients

  • 1 medium onion chopped

  • 3 medium carrots chopped

  • 2 celery stalks chopped

  • 3-4 garlic cloves

  • About 5 cups of butternut squash, peeled, seeded and cubed

  • 1 large granny smith apple, cored, peeled and chopped

  • 2 -14 oz cans (or boxed) veggie broth

  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

  • 1/4 teaspoon clove's

  • 1 teaspoon thyme

  • Salt and pepper to taste

  • 2 tablespoons Maple syrup - I don't like it as sweet so next time I'll do 1 Tablespoon

  • 1 stick of butter - can use vegan butters

  • 1/2 cup creamer -- or coconut milk if you can't do dairy

Directions Cook in crock pot low 6 hours or high 4 hours. Once everything is soft, puree using an immersion blender -- I don't have one so I used my Ninja and it worked fine. -- I did have to do this in segments as it makes a lot...so it would not all fit in one blender.

I also made Maple Roasted chickpeas to sprinkle on top

While soup is cooking - preheat oven to 375

In a small bowl combine

1 tablespoon grape seed oil, 1 1/2 teaspoons maple syrup, 1 Tablespoon brown sugar, 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, and 1/8 teaspoon salt.

Rinse and Drain a can of chickpeas and pat dry with a towel..remove the 'skins' by rolling them on the towel.

Mix chickpeas in bowl and coat them - spread on a large baking sheet and place in oven for 1 hour - stirring them every 15 minutes so they dry on all sides.

When soup is done sprinkle some chick peas on top and enjoy!

When I ate this the following day I shredded a rotisserie chicken and added it to the soup. YUM!

Print Recipe HERE


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page